--- title: "User Groups" slug: "user-groups" description: "Use user groups to manage role based access control in Validatar" updated: 2024-03-20T18:06:55Z published: 2024-03-20T18:06:55Z canonical: "docs.validatar.com/user-groups" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.validatar.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # User Groups Upgrading to 2021.3User groups were previously found in **Projects** but have moved to **Global Settings**. After upgrading, the user group list will show the user group's name followed by the name of the project to identify where the particular user group migrated from. You can now **Merge** user groups from multiple projects into one single group to avoid redundancy. You can also rename any migrated user groups to improve clarity. ## Overview Groups are used to organize users. We recommend using User Groups to assign permissions instead of individual users for easier and consistent management. ## Creating Groups ![Group Detail.png](https://cdn.document360.io/a80bc2a3-87d3-4dc2-9244-a16f33ed193c/Images/Documentation/Group%20Detail.png) 1. To create a new user group, select **New Group** in the toolbar. 2. To add users to a group, select the checkbox next to their username. Deselect the checkbox to remove users from a group. 3. Click **Save**. ## Merging User Groups ![](https://cdn.document360.io/a80bc2a3-87d3-4dc2-9244-a16f33ed193c/Images/Documentation/image-1629731841830.png) Follow these steps to merge user groups: 1. Open the user group you want to survive. 2. Click on **Merge** in the toolbar. 3. Choose to either save or delete the user groups that you're merging into the current group. 4. Select one or more user groups from the list. (Hold down Ctrl to multi-select) 5. Click **Merge**. **Note****:** You cannot restore a user group after it is deleted during the merge. ## Deleting User Groups ![](https://cdn.document360.io/a80bc2a3-87d3-4dc2-9244-a16f33ed193c/Images/Documentation/image-1629733569023.png) Follow these steps to delete user groups: 1. Click the whitespace next to the user group name to select the row. 2. Click **Delete**. **Note:** You can restore the user group after it is deleted if you don't navigate away from the page. **Once you leave the User Groups page, the user group cannot be restored.**